Early Voting Now Open In 2022 Primary: How To Vote In Maple Grove – Maple Grove, MN Patch

MAPLE GROVE, MN — Maple Grove residents can cast their votes for the Aug. 9 primary elections as soon as Friday.
Early voting runs from June 24 through Aug. 8 in Minnesota. During that period, registered voters can vote early by submitting an absentee ballot at their local elections offices. Residents can also register in person to vote early with proof of residence, according to Minnesota election officials.
Maple Grove residents can cast their early votes or drop off completed primary ballots at the following locations:
Residents can also mail their completed ballots to the Hennepin County Elections office at the Government Center: 300 S. 6th St. MC 012, Minneapolis, MN 55487-0012. Completed mail-in ballots must be received by Election Day.
Click here for a 2022 Minnesota Absentee Ballot Application or click here to register to vote online.
Minnesotans can view a sample ballot by using the state’s “What’s on my ballot?” tool.
Maple Grove residents will see several statewide races on their Aug. 9 primary ballots, as well as races for Hennepin County sheriff and attorney. There are no primaries in Maple Grove for the Minnesota Legislature or U.S. Congress.
Governor, executive offices
Gov. Tim Walz is seeking re-election alongside Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan and will face competition for the Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party’s nomination during the primary from Ole Savior and Julia M. Parker, who also filed as DFL candidates for those offices.
Former state Sen. Scott Jensen — who earned the Republican Party’s endorsement at its convention last month — has selected former Minnesota Vikings player Matt Birk as his running mate. They will face primary competition from two sets of candidates.
Joyce Lacey and Kent Edwards filed to run together, while Bob “Again” Carney Jr. listed Captain Jack Sparrow as his running mate, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State’s Office.
Steve Patterson and Matt Huff are running for the Grassroots – Legalize Cannabis party’s nomination for governor against Darrell Paulsen and Ed Engelmann, while James McCaskel and David Sandbeck face competition from Chris Wright and L.C. Lawrence Converse for the Legal Marijuana Now party’s nomination.
Incumbent Minnesota Secretary of State Steve Simon faces a primary challenge from Steve Carlson for the DFL’s nomination in his race for re-election, while Kim Crockett and Erik van Mechelen will face off Aug. 9 for the Republican Party’s nomination.
Bill Dahn is challenging incumbent Attorney General Keith Ellison in the DFL primary Aug. 9, and Jim Schultz, Doug Wardlow and Sharon Anderson have filed to appear as candidates for the office on Republican primary ballots.
Hennepin County offices
Aug. 9 primary ballots in Maple will also feature races for Hennepin County sheriff and attorney.
Three candidates are running to succeed Hennepin County Sheriff David Hutchinson in the 2022 primary: Jai Hanson, Dawanna Witt and Joseph Banks.
Hanson is an officer with the Bloomington Police Department; Witt oversees the Hennepin County Jail and court system for the sheriff’s office; and Banks is a former police chief and current bail bondsman.
Hutchinson announced he would not seek re-election following his DWI conviction after he crashed his county-owned SUV in December.
Seven candidates filed to appear on Aug. 9 primary ballots in the race to succeed retiring Hennepin County Attorney Mike Freeman:
Freeman served as Hennepin County attorney from 1991-1999 and was re-elected in 2006 when then-Hennepin County Attorney Amy Klobuchar ran for U.S. Senate.
U.S. Congress
There will be no primary election in the race to represent Minnesota’s Third Congressional District, which includes Maple Grove.
Incumbent U.S. Rep. Dean Phillips was the only DFL candidate to file signatures to appear on Nov. 8 ballots, while Tom Weiler was the sole Republican candidate to file, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State’s Office.
Minnesota Legislature
There will also be no primary elections in Maple Grove-area races for seats in the Minnesota House of Representatives and Senate.
Maple Grove was split between House Districts 34A and 34B for the past decade, but the city will now be in House Districts 37A and 37B until redistricting is once again completed in 2032.
Two incumbent Maple Grove-area state representatives will not face primary challengers in their campaigns for re-election to the Minnesota House of Representatives, according to the filings.
DFL state Rep. Kristin Bahner will face Republican John Bristol in the Nov. 8 election, while Republican state Rep. Kristin Robbins will face DFL candidate Caitlin Cahill.
Incumbent Maple Grove-area state Sen. Warren Limmer is seeking re-election to the new Senate District 37. The Republican senator is due to face DFL candidate Farhio Khalif in the general election.

Get more local news delivered straight to your inbox. Sign up for free Patch newsletters and alerts.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *